Andrea G.

Home Country: Colombia
Age: 26
Qualified to Care For: Children Ages 2 and Older
Available: 2/1/24 (Extension)

My Video

Photos

Letter To My Future Host Family

Dear Host Family,

First of all, I would like to introduce myself and share as much as a page will allow me to.

I was born in Bogota, Colombia the capital of the country in 1997. I grew up in a beautiful coastal city called Santa Marta, where I had the joy of waking up every day and seeing the sea through my window. I love sunsets and their colors. I love to read fantasy, history, and self-improvement books. When I have time off from work I go to the beach or exercise with my friends. I enjoy going out to eat because I like to try new restaurants. Dancing is one of my passions in life, it gives me the energy I need in my daily life.

Currently, I’m living in Barranquilla, another coastal city a little far from the sea and yet just as beautiful as the people who live there. I’m 24 years old, my parents decided to name me Andrea Carolina after I was 3 months old because they were expecting a boy, my younger brother Nicolas. I live with him and my two beautiful cats, Lolo and Canela. I adopted them both during the quarantine of 2020.

I graduated with a degree in international relations in March 2020 in International Relations and since May of that year I have been working in a call center starting as an agent currently I’m working as a supervisor.

I started babysitting in 2014 during my senior year of high school. I took care of three children, Andy, Emiliano, and Cristobal on weekends during the year, ages 12, 3, and 6 respectively. And I volunteered two hours a week in a public school teaching English to children between 7 and 9 years old.

I have to share that my maternal instinct was what led me to take care of my three babies (Andy, Cristobal, and Emiliano) at a young age at that time I was 16 years old, I started to look for ways to generate income but I didn’t want it to be just that, so I looked for my mom’s friend, Maria, the boys’ mom and I started in this world. I quickly noticed that things flow a lot with kids when routines become games, kids are so witty that they can even give you the best advice in life and you will never forget it. I don’t forget when Cristobal once told me ‘You’re magic’ but it was because of everything he didn’t like (taking medicine, taking an early bath, or doing homework) I managed to support him to do them, or course after some tantrums lol.

Both, in the school where I taught and with my babies, I dedicated myself to sensory stimulation, I played music to help them learn, and I used images to use colors with themes (animals, places, countries, parts of the body, letters, etc.). Likewise, I used textures such as plasticine, lentils, cotton, glue, etc. to decorate shapes and images to stimulate the imagination.

I can’t explain in one word why I want to be part of this exchange and your family. I want you to see me as the big sister, traveling and working with children I feel it is the full package. Living in another country but having fun while I take care of them is something that feeds me with emotion. Also, improving my rusty English lol. Each child is a world too different and for me interacting with them feeds my soul because of their occurrences and personalities. To offer I have my affection, patience, and above all love. I take all my responsibilities seriously and even more so when it comes to another human being in my care. The children usually feel confident with me and not to mention the parents when they meet me, that is something important for me, to generate and gain the trust of the parents as well as the babies.

I would like to have more than a page to share a lot of details and experiences to let you know everything about me. I believe in our meetings we’ll have plenty of time to do so. I’m excited to know you and most important my little siblings. Have a wonderful day, and see ya soon!

Lots of love,
Andrea Herrera

Learn More About Me

Please contact us if you are interested in learning more about Andrea or any of our wonderful applicants. To gain full access to our entire database of au pairs, please login or create a new host family application.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This