Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Irune Guenechea Matabuena

Home Country: Mexico
Age: 19-years-old
Qualified to care for: Children of All Ages
Available: 6/5/20

My Video
Photos

Letter To My Future Host Family

Dear host family,

My name is Irune Guenechea Matabuena, I am 18 years old and I really want to be an Au Pair.

I have two brothers, Andoni, who is 21 years old, and Ander, who is 17 years old. I am the middle child and only daughter. We have always been very close; we share sweet memories that make us smile when we look back at them. Even when we sometimes fight, I think brothers are those people who are beyond everything and everyone. 

I have a really big family, my maternal grandparents had 8 children including my mom. All my aunts and uncles have children, so I have about 16 cousins of different ages. I am one of the oldest, so I know how to deal with kids.

From my dad’s side, my grandparents only had 4 sons, but it is crazy because my grandma always wanted a daughter; my mom tells me that my grandmother wanted so wholeheartedly to have a daughter that each of her children had one. We are 4 granddaughters and 4 grandsons. Although I am the one of the youngest here and we don’t see each other that often because we all live in different places, we do talk frequently, and we are present in important events as a good family that we are.

My mom is from Mexico, where I have lived my whole life, but my dad is from Spain, so I have both nationalities. That is why my name is so weird: it is in Basque, a very old language that is spoken in the Basque country (Euskadi), located in the north of Spain, where my dad is from. I have been to Euskadi 4 times, it is an amazing place, the last time I went was last summer, where I visited my family and made new friends. Even when Euskadi is an amazing and beautiful place, I prefer Mexico because it is my home. Mexico is a great country, it has amazing places to go during the holidays, the oceans here are very pretty and magical. I have traveled a lot, but I have never been able to find a place like this. Our food is really good, the way we laugh about everything and the vocabulary we use to express ourselves. I am in love with Mexico.

I am in my last year of high school and to spend one year of my life being an Au Pair I consider is a great idea that would bring me new knowledge, I would get to know another culture, and it would help me improve my English and social skills. I also believe that working with children would be very useful for my life because I know that babysitting is a job that requires a lot of patience, a virtue that helps you in all aspects of life.

In my free time I like to play volleyball, I actually was part of the representative team of my school for a long time, and I had very good experiences. I love art; painting, drawing and creating new things using and recycling materials I have at home. For example, last year I made a sweater for my dog with a shirt that I no longer used. It was a success! Another thing I enjoy doing is reading books and spending time with my friends and cousins. I love Disney movies and Brad Pitt movies. I tend to regularly walk my dog, and I like to take pictures when there are pretty or interesting landscapes during our promenades.

I do my social service in “La Casa Hogar”, which is a place where kids between 3 and 14 years old go and stay while their parents are working. I help them with their homework and play with them. I consider it a really fulfilling job: every time I go there I learn from the kids, a feeling I can’t even describe.

Kids are the greatest thing in the world, they are beginners of life, innocent and lovely. For a while I was considering studying to become a teacher because I love teaching and helping my classmates and siblings, but I later concluded that I can teach even if I do not study pedagogy.

I consider myself a cheerful, active, friendly, responsible, honest and educated person. I have all my values present in my actions. Every time I think about becoming an Au Pair, I get more excited.

What I am looking forward to in this experience is first of all to have fun and create happy memories, to get out of my comfort zone, improve my English, learn many things about life and also to get to know myself better. I hope someday I can look back into my life and consider Au Pair an experience that took part in shaping who I became as a person.

Thank you for your consideration,

Irune GM.

Learn More About Me

Please contact us if you are interested in learning more about Irune or any of our wonderful applicants. In order to have full access to our entire database of au pairs, please login or create a new host family application.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This