Benedetta D.

Home Country: Mexico
Age: 25
Qualified to Care For: Children of All Ages
Available: 12/28/2022 (Extension)

Photos

Letter To My Future Host Family

Dear host family,

My name is Benedetta and I'm 19 years old. I live with my mum Orietta, a nurse, and our two cats in Castelfranco Veneto, a small town in northern Italy. My dad, Enzo, is an anesthesiologist and lives with his partner, but I still see him very often. I have a half-brother, Alessandro, who is 34 years old and lives in my favorite city, Treviso, where my grandparents used to live.
I attended "Liceo Classico", a high school that focuses on humanistic subjects, such as Latin, Greek, and Italian literature. Right now, I'm working with my uncle who owns a wash and dye industry. I have to drive there every day since it's 15 minutes from my house.

In my free time, I love reading books, from fantasy to classics, especially Italian and English literature (I promise I'm less serious than what it seems). I've always loved the English language and I didn't find it hard to study. Another passion I have is music: if I had to pick a favorite genre I'd choose classical music, but I mostly listen to pop artists, such as Harry Styles, Coldplay, and some Italian singers. During high school, I didn't have much free time, but I hope one day I'll learn to play the piano. It's one of my biggest dreams.
My two best friends, Arianna and Rebecca, and I love playing board games, but they hate me because I win lots of times.
I have a strong bond with each of my family members, on my mom's side. I love spending time with them, especially during Christmas, when we all meet up and eat together.
My favorite time of the year is summer because I get to go on holiday, separately, with my mum and dad: we've always traveled to different places, like Greece, Spain, France, and many others. Traveling allowed me to learn about new realities, some being completely different from the one I live in, and to discover something I really enjoy, that is, meeting new people.
I've been cooking lunch for myself since I was in middle school because my mom had to work, so I' have some experience. I am far from perfect but I like cooking, especially traditional dishes that my grandmother taught me.

I've tried many sports but my favorite was swimming, which I've done for 7 years, but I quit during my first year of high school.

I actually can't believe I'm writing this letter, I've waited a lot for this to happen and now it's here. I don't have any doubt about my decision because I'm very determined and ambitious, and I considered the pros and cons of this opportunity. I've been thinking about becoming an Au Pair for more than two years for many reasons: the main one is my love for children, which I've always had. In fact, when I was little I used to ask Santa a younger brother or sister, but, for obvious reasons, he couldn't fulfill my wishes.

I chose this experience also because my dream is to live and have a job outside of Italy, possibly in an English-speaking country, hence why I've taken into consideration this program. I wanted to try to live abroad for a year to see if I'd be ready to stay away from my family for a long period.
The longest I've spent abroad was during a study holiday in London, just me and my friend, even though it's nowhere near similar to this kind of experience. I would say that this was one of the best holidays of my life for many aspects: I met so many amazing people from different parts of the world, we visited lots of places on our own, I got to practice my English, discussed current serious topics during classes.

I would describe myself as a very calm and patient person.
Another aspect of my personality is that I'm kind and I always try to understand another person's point of view. I always tell my friends to let me know I've done something wrong, in order to avoid any arguments.
I'm also very responsible, in fact, my best friend, ironically, says that I'm the "mom" of the group. I've never done anything bad (and I never wanted to, so don't worry!).
I love being helpful, it makes me happy when someone asks for my help. Since my mom and I live alone, I gladly help her with housework.
Unfortunately, one of my weaknesses is that I'm very shy at first, but I just need some time to settle in. However, this does not mean that I won't try my best to be friendly and cheerful!

I have always been close to my neighbors and when they had twins, I immediately fell in love with them. I met them when they were just 1 month old and started helping their mother when they were 2 months old. Francesca and Lorenzo were my safe place, I'll cherish forever the times when they fell asleep in my arms. It almost felt like I was their big sister. I am forever grateful for these memories! When they were newborns, in the afternoon I used to give them their bottles, and then they would nap on my arms. I bathed them, changed their diapers, and sometimes put them to sleep. One time I also participated in a swimming lesson for them, because their father couldn't be there. I stayed with them until they were around 2 years old. Sadly, I had to focus more on school, but we still see each other regularly.

In conclusion, I hope I'll get to be a part of your family, and have a great relationship with every member of it! I hope this experience won't be great just for me, but also for you.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my letter,

Kind regards,

Benedetta

Learn More About Me

Please contact us if you are interested in learning more about Benedetta or any of our wonderful applicants. In order to have full access to our entire database of au pairs, please login or create a new host family application.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This