Camila Uribe Henao

Home Country: Colombia
Age: 25
Qualified to Care For: Children of All Ages
Available: 3/19/22 (Extension)

My Video
Photos

Letter To My Future Host Family

Hello Dear host family,
I am very excited to get to know you and learn about you. But, first, I would like to introduce myself.
I am Camila Uribe Henao. I am 23 years old. I was born in Pereira, Colombia. Pereira is in the coffee-growing mountainous region of the country. I live with my mom in a three-bedroom apartment. We used to live with my grandmother, but unfortunately, she passed away two years ago.  My mom’s name is Beatriz, she is 60 years old and she is a retired woman who worked many years in the printing industry. I have on older sister. Her name is Viviana and she is 37 years old. She is a business administrator and she works at a telecommunications company. She and her husband manage a couple of stores in our hometown.
In fact, I come from a big and lovably family. My childhood was surrounded by good friends, and fun and games. We love and support each other, and we also like to share good moments with the extended family. I studied from preschool through high school in a Catholic school. I graduated from high school in 2013. I was recognized for being an great student. Then I was admitted to University to study a B. ed in English teaching language. I studied only one semester because ever since I started learning the basics of English I dreamt about going to visit the U.S. Fortunately, I got to participate in the Community College Initiative program, which is a program sponsored by the U.S State Department. I went to Whatcom Community College to study a course on Early Childhood Education in 2014-15. This was a rewarding experience since I got the opportunity to learn a lot about ECED.
Moreover, I went back to my country to continue with my university degree. I am currently in 10th semester. I have been working as an English teacher to young learners for three years now. Luckily, I am working at the same institute where I was a student years back. I work from three to five times a week depending on the group’s schedules. I am so thankful because I have been able to put into practice what I learn in college.
Different from my teaching and academic life, I also like babysitting and taking care of Sofia, my ten-year-old niece and Samuel, my seven-year-old nephew. Sofia is in fifth grade and Samuel in third grade. They go to the same school and when they come from school, we all have lunch together, then I help them with their homework. I love playing with them, singing, and dancing music. I am proud to say that I helped them learn to ride a bike. I usually take them to English class on Friday afternoons. We also like to visit the library, watch movies, and play board games.
I also like to babysit my younger cousins because they usually go to our house to play with the kids; consequently, I have taken care of my nephew, niece, and cousin since they were babies. For instance, ever since they were born, I have stayed and babysat them in the afternoons when my sister had to go to work for a while or run errands. I helped preparing the bottles and feeding them and then I would play with them too. My mom taught me how to give them baths and dress them up since they were small babies. Sometimes I have got the chance to this with my cousin, who is three years old now. I have enjoyed babysitting him.
I like meeting new people and I love making friends and learning about them. I think it is great to listen to them and share with others.  I like reading and watching series or documentaries, I also like to go for walks in parks, to explore the city, and spend time with my friends. I think that the Au Pair Program is a great opportunity for sharing experiences and learn from each other, to build friendships and a sense community, to grow in knowledge, support, and to continue learning about cultures around the world, such as the American and many others. This learning can guide us to solve problems and implement those solutions in our community, school and workplace.
I would be more than pleased to get the chance to talk with you and answer any questions you may have about me or my childcare and teaching experience. I would like to learn about you all, your interests and what you expect from the Au Pair arrangement.
Thank you very much for being interested in my application!
I’m looking forward to hearing from you.
Warm regards,
Camila Uribe

Learn More About Me

Please contact us if you are interested in learning more about Camila or any of our wonderful applicants. In order to have full access to our entire database of au pairs, please login or create a new host family application.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This