Catherine Serrano Alvarez

Home Country: Colombia
Age: 26
Qualified to Care For: Children of All Ages
Available: 12/20/21

My Video
Photos

Letter To My Future Host Family

Dear, future family:

My name is Catherine and I´m 26 years old. I was born in Barranquilla – Colombia. My culture is known for being very warm, open and happy.

I live by myself but I spend a lot of time with my parents and my sister. My sister is 10 years younger than me. I like to guide her and help her to learn new things. Her name is Zharick, she is 16 years old.

In 2017 I moved to Argentina to start my internship. I finished my internship in november 2017 and i finally got my degree as Psychologist in March 2018.

I describe myself as a peaceful girl, I am very independent and friendly, I love to meet new people and talk with everybody, every time I go out I make new friends. I´m very organized, responsible and understanding. Because of my profession and personality, I’m very good at solving conflicts.
I like to wake up early and go for a walk. I love outdoor activities, picnics and the beach are my perfect plans. I love to read books that can teach me new things. I love traveling, every time I can travel I go for it! Other of my favorite activities is helping homeless people and dogs without family. I talk to my friends every 3 weeks and They give me all the clothes and blankets they don’t use and we let them choose what they need.

I have different experiences with children. I was working for 6 months in a foundation for children with special needs, me and 2 colleagues created a program for the kids. We created a schedule with practical and fun activities, so every day we did a fun activity and we read useful concepts that will help them to keep healthy relationships with their partners. In this time I worked with kids between 6 and 16 years old, preparing classes, developing strategies to get their attention in the activities and teaching them how to manage their positive and negative emotions. As well I was working in a school with an afro Colombian population, my work there was to develop knowledge about how to delegitimize beliefs about violence.

My largest experience with kids is Alana. I took care of her since the first day she was born, at that moment her mom couldn’t do it because of medical problems. She is 4 years old and I have been taking care of her for 3 years. In a normal day I sleep with Alana, in the morning I wake her up for shower, I dress her then I prepare breakfast and small meal for her to eat in school, I take her to school and pick her up, she is very independent so she does homework meanwhile I prepare lunch then we check homework together and after lunch we take a nap. After the nap we go out to the park or make our ‘spa day’, she loves to play with my hair and put beauty masks on my face.

This is a little bit about me. I chose this experience in the USA because I love to work with children and I feel super curious about the American culture. Living there is the final step to improve my English, it is a new culture and experience where I can give my best!

With love,

Catt

Learn More About Me

Please contact us if you are interested in learning more about Catherine or any of our wonderful applicants. In order to have full access to our entire database of au pairs, please login or create a new host family application.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This