Cindy Arias Ramirez

Home Country: Costa Rica
Age: 27
Qualified to Care For: Children of All Ages
Available: 6/12/22 (Extension)

My Video
Photos

Letter To My Future Host Family

Dear family,
My name is Cindy, I am 25 years old and I’m from Costa Rica but I currently live in La Plata, Argentina, where I’ve been studying veterinary medicine  for the last five years; there are only few subjects left to finish my degree. Argentina has become my second home because it has given me many opportunities. In this country I've made many friends and met people that are now very important to me. However I miss Costa Rica a lot, as well as my family, my friends and the regional food obviously. I miss my lifestyle in my country, since my parents have our home there and I grew up surrounded by animals, nature and fresh air.
My parents are my whole world. They are hardworking, honest, loving people, and my greatest support. My mom, Dinorah works in agriculture with my dad, German. They are 57 and 53 years old, respectively. Apart from them, I have an older half brother, José Luis who is 43 years old. José works as a security guard in San José, capital city of Costa Rica. There is not a day that I don’t remember my parents, but I know that being here is worth the effort, and I know that every sacrifice has its reward (“Go big or go home” is my motto). I just want to make my parents proud.
I come from a huge family with a total of 18 uncles and aunts, and around 30 cousins, which is why I have always been surrounded by my little cousins, who I have taken care of many times while living in Costa Rica. This allowed me to interact with children of different ages, which was an advantage when I looked after Benicio and Martina here in Argentina.
I consider myself as a person who loves animals “which is one of the reasons why I study veterinary sciences” and my dream is to become a great veterinarian and to be able to help all animals that need it. I think that I am a kind, emphatic, loving, intelligent  and funny person; I am very hardworking and responsible girl. Usually, I easily establish a close and friendly relationship with kids, and also I am an open-minded girl and I am willing to learn new things.  As my hobbies, I like singing and dancing a lot, it makes me feel complete and I enjoy those activities so much. I like to doing sports and physical activity such as playing soccer, running, hiking with friends and riding my bicycle with them or alone. In my free time, I like cooking lunch or dinner for my friends or going out to eat with them; I also spend some of my free time cleaning my apartment. I also enjoy watching movies with a big bowl of popcorn, or just going to walk my dog, Chori. Usually, I enjoy the simple things of the life.
In 2014, when I arrived in Argentina, I started working in a veterinary products distributor. Through this job, I met Benicio’s father and Martina’s mom. I started taking care of Benicio  in 2017 when he was 16 months old, and it was an experience full of learnings, since he was a little, restless, active and fun baby. So, with him, I learned the basics of looking after a toddler, such as how to feed a baby different meals (for example, I prepared vegetable purée, vegetable soup, some soup with chicken or meat, and as a afternoon snack, I gave Benecio some fruit with yogurt, fruit milkshake), how to change a diaper, as well as how to handle situations like bathing and dressing sometimes. Finally, I also became aware of the times when a baby needs to take a nap and witnessing and participating of the baby’s daily growth and progress.   Apart from helping him with the basics of his daily routine, I used games to entertain and stimulate Benecio such as playing with legos, cars, kicking the ball, making music using percussion instruments, watching educative cartoons, etc. In conclusion,  those months with Benecio were highly fruitful for both of us and that's why I really loved taking care of him.
One year later, I took care of Martina for eight months, she was 4 years old at the time. She was a super sweet, smart, charismatic, kind and funny girl. Taking care of her was beautiful because we had a great connection, we had a lot of fun, we learned together, and it was a totally different experience because she was an older girl. With Martina, we usually had fun doing a lot indoor activities, such as doing crafts and artistic tasks, playing with dolls, reading books or creating stories with puppets, making each other over with nail polishes and hairbrushes to ''experiment'' new styles, playing jigsaw puzzle or broad games, singing their favorite songs together. Sometimes I cooked lunch to her  (fried chicken fillet, mashed potatoes, soup with chicken or meat, rice, salad and fish, etc.) and gave her some afternoon snacks such as yogurt with fruits, hot cocoa with croissants, among others. We also liked cooking desserts together and watching movies or TV shows. Sometimes I helped her with her homework and help her practice dance steps for her kindergarten choreographies. As for outdoor activities, we loved having picnics at the park, going for walks, bike riding or roller skating; washing the car and watering the plants, and making modeling clay and taking it outside.  We enjoyed going out to eat to McDonalds or to eat ice cream, for example. I think that it is always highly important to find games where the children can learn something.
I really love spending time with children, sharing with them, learning from them and their way of seeing the world. I really love it. Kids are the future and that is why being able to contribute to their development as human beings and as good people is one main reasons that encouraged me to apply for this program. I’ve always found it priceless to become both the older sister that I was never able to be, as well as a good friend of the children I’m asked to look after. I think that Au Pair is perfect for this moment of my life: living alone all this time has made me grow a lot personally and professionally. This program is great  for me, It’s now or never, since soon I will be 26 and I don’t want to miss this opportunity, not only has visiting the U.S been a lifetime dream, but also improving my English would contribute to my professional future as a veterinarian but because I think that getting to know a new culture is going to help me continue to grow as a person. Moreover, this opportunity would help me save enough money to be able to both finish my studies here in Argentina and help my parents with some debts.
I hope this program meets my expectations to gain valuable work experience, to learn about the American culture, to make a difference in the lives of the children I’m going to take care of, to leave an indelible mark on them, as well as to be able to treat my host family as my own, at least for a year. I really hope to get of my host family’s confidence, so they can feel comfortable and happy me. I hope we can have a good time together learn from each other, and have a respectful and loving relationship. I hope that with this letter you may have an idea about me and my life. Perhaps we’ll meet in a short time.
I’ll be looking forward to hearing from you.
Best regards,
Cindy Patricia Arias Ramírez

Learn More About Me

Please contact us if you are interested in learning more about Cindy or any of our wonderful applicants. In order to have full access to our entire database of au pairs, please login or create a new host family application.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This