Geraldine Recuero Campo

Home Country: Colombia
Age: 27
Qualified to Care For: Children of All Ages
Available: 5/16/22 (Extension)

My Video
Photos

Letter To My Future Host Family

Dear Family,
My name is Geraldine. I am a 24 years-old (female) Colombian student. I am from the joyful Barranquilla is one of the most important cities in Colombia and is situated next to Caribbean Coast.
I come from a family of 6: My parents, Carmen and Luis, I have 2 sisters and one brother. My eldest sister Alexandra, is 29 years old and is working as a hosted at a hotel in Panama. My brother Luis, is 28 years old and started his own egg delivery business 3 years ago; my middle sister Carla, is 26 years and the last two years has worked with a family in France as an Au Pair.
Last year I got my college degree from Tourism Management in the Universidad del Atlántico. In about a year or two I plan to pursue a master’s degree, but I am make up my mind concerning my future area of specialization yet. So, at the moment, I would like to improve my English since it’s completely related to my area and take some time out of academics to have a different life experience, and to have time to calmly reflect on my future academic/professional orientation. To this end, I think spending a year abroad would be particularly interesting.
My first language is, of course, Spanish, and I am also almost fluent in English. I started learning English in primary school, and it was also the language of instruction in the secondary school I attended. I have in addition been taking courses taught in English at university. I am nevertheless aware that learning a language within a classroom context is by itself, incomplete. So, in order to really be at ease in English, I feel that a cultural immersion would do me a lot of good. Through my language teachers, I have learnt a lot about the United States, the English and life in USA. Hence my desire to have first-hand experience of North American life. I am particularly interested in experiencing family life in USA, since it offers a cultural context that is undoubtedly different from mine. For this reason, I would very much like to find a nice family to live with and work for in there.
When it comes to child care experience, I have looked after children in informal context. Last year, I spent around fifteen months working in a children's home in Barranquilla. Among others, I took after 3 little girls during 10 months. I organized for them and took part in recreational indoor and outdoor activities: we sang, danced, played games, role played, drew, painted, and narrated stories. We also visited the beach, the local zoo, went out on picnics among other activities, so I find myself in their ever animated company. I can comfortably say that I sincerely enjoy spending time with children.
When it comes to leisure, I take pleasure in the simple things in life. I enjoy being outdoors, being with my friends, going for walks, visiting places I have not been to, watching documentaries and listening good music. I also enjoy biking and swimming and I practice at least twice a week.
I have to say that I am looking for a live-in arrangement with a host family that would be happy to have me stay with and work for them for at least 1 year. I would also prefer looking after children aged between 1 year to 16 years. Lastly, although I am quite flexible, I would prefer to have working hours that would allow me to attend day time English language classes.
I would be happy to have the opportunity to speak with you: to answer whatever questions you may have about me or my childcare experiences; to learn more about your family; your interests and to know more about what you expect from the au pair arrangement.
Thank you very much for your interest in my application!
I look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
Geraldine

Learn More About Me

Please contact us if you are interested in learning more about Geraldine or any of our wonderful applicants. In order to have full access to our entire database of au pairs, please login or create a new host family application.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This