Maria S.

Home Country: Colombia
Age: 26
Qualified to Care For: Children of All Ages
Available: Immediately

My Video


Letter To My Future Host Family

Dear Host Family

My name is Maria Fernanda Cabrera Sierra, but everyone calls me Mafe. I’m 25 years old and I’m from Colombia. I am currently living in Wyoming, taking care of two beautiful 5 year old twin girls. Due to changes in family plans I am looking for a new family for my extension year.

To tell you a little about myself, I am from Barranquilla, a large coastal city in Colombia. I love music, dancing, sports and food! In 2020 I graduated as a Psychologist from Universidad del Norte. Since then I have dedicated my professional practice to working with children with learning difficulties and special needs. I had the opportunity to assist more than 30 children and adolescents and support them in their treatment processes to improve their academic performance. Additionally, in my personal and family experience I have been very involved in raising my cousins and sister. Since I was 15 years old I have learned to change diapers, make bottles, give baths, put them to sleep, feed them, etc.

During my first year as an Au Pair I have had a wonderful experience. My current family welcomed me as their eldest daughter, we have shared incredible moments and many adventures together like camping, hiking, skiing, etc. Within the dynamics and responsibilities I am in charge of helping the girls to get ready in the mornings, preparing lunches for the girls, sometimes picking them up after school or taking them to extracurricular activities, practicing Spanish as much as possible during the time I am with them, sometimes I contribute with the preparation of dinner or occasionally I prepare some delicious typical meals from Colombia. My family enjoys cooking and dinner time is our favorite time to share. I also help with some housework (in addition to my own chores related to taking care of the girls) around the house whenever I have time and I am not busy with the girls. Also as a family we celebrate the holidays by making crafts such as cards, masks, paintings, and fun games at home.

During this year I have gained a lot of driving experience. Wyoming is a very rural area and you always need to drive to get somewhere. I currently have a Wyoming driver’s license. I am a safe driver and feel confident doing so.

I hope for my extension year I can find a new family that will welcome me as a daughter and that I can make a great team with!

Thank you for your interest in my profile and I look forward to meeting you soon!

Love, Mafe.

Learn More About Me

Please contact us if you are interested in learning more about Maria or any of our wonderful applicants. In order to have full access to our entire database of au pairs, please login or create a new host family application.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This