Maria Maldonado

Home Country: Colombia
Age: 25
Qualified to Care For: Children of All Ages
Available: 8/19/22

My Video
Photos

Letter To My Future Host Family

Dear Host Family
I am Maria, I am 25 years old and I am from Cordoba, the second largest state in Argentina. I’m about to get my degree from medical school and I want to take a break before I start a residency to become a pediatrician. I’ve always considered myself a responsible, caring and loving person, that loves children and cares about their development and health. I love the idea of the au pair program because it involves taking care of kids, travelling and exchanging cultures, and this will be my 2nd time as an au pair.
About me and my family
My family is divided in a few states over the country. My dad lives in San Luis with his girlfriend, where also live my grandparents and where I used to live during high school. My mom lives in Cordoba with my stepfather and my two siblings. The biggest part of my family lives in Catamarca, including my grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins. Being away from family has made me independent but not detached from them, I always enjoy the time I spend with them during vacations and several holidays.
Nowadays I am living by myself and I visit my mom twice a month and my dad every two or three months. We usually enjoy meals together, I would prepare dessert or something else to share during the afternoon while we drink mate (our typical beverage, like tea). We would play board games or watch movies when we cannot be outside. During summer, we like to go to lakes, rivers or the swimming pool.
I have various hobbies. I’ve played several sports since I was a kid, such as volleyball, running, cycling, gymnastics and swimming. I like to stay active both to entertain myself and to be healthy. I also like reading books, mystery and science fiction are my favorites. Watching Netflix is also one of my weekend and evening plans. Music is also a very important part of my days, I listen to it while driving, exercising and whenever possible, from classical music to pop and rock.
Experiences with children
My first experiences taking care of children was with my siblings, who are now 15 and 10 years old. I’ve learnt to change diapers, prepare bottles, feed them, put them down for naps, helping with homework, doing arts and crafts. The same happened with my cousins since I’m the oldest.
In 2015, I was the nanny of three children, they were 1, 3 and 5 years old at that time. I had to pick them up from school and stay with them until their parents came back from work. I used to prepare snacks for them and we would play in their backyard or at the park. Soccer, biking and seek and hide were their favorite games. They were well behaved, although I had to deal with tantrums and fights between them sometimes, where I would talk to them or just divert their attention.
In 2016 I took a break from college and travelled to Atlanta, Georgia, where I had one of the best years of my life. A wonderful family hosted me, they had two beautiful children that were 1 (Ama) and 3 (Steven) years old at that time. They were two sweet and loving children, and although it was a little bit difficult at the beginning (Steven has an autistic disorder), I ended up loving them as if they were my own family. The first 6 months they didn’t go to school, so I spent most of the day with them; I would wake them up and prepare breakfast, dress them and prepare to go out to the park, museums or the swimming pool during the summer. Later, I would prepare lunch for the three of us and put the youngest down for a nap, while I stayed with the oldest playing quietly until naptime was over. Then, we would eat snacks and go out for a walk, to the park or to a play date until dinner time. Some other activities we used to do were painting with crayons, learn letters, sing songs, dance, read books.
My experience as an au pair was incredible. I made new friends, travelled a lot, enjoyed new experiences and food, and got to be part of a family abroad. I wanted to stay longer than a year but I had a commitment with my parents and school, so I knew I had to come back; now that I’ve finished my degree, I’d like to repeat the experience. I want to be a part of your family; I’d like to be like big sister to your children, and maybe a friend of yours; share meals, weekend activities, trips and holidays. I also would like to spend time with my friends and on my own sometimes when I’m off work. I can help with some household duties and be flexible on the schedule, and I would expect the same from you.
I’m open to answer anything else you’d want to know; I hope to hear from you soon,
Maria 🙂

Learn More About Me

Please contact us if you are interested in learning more about Maria or any of our wonderful applicants. In order to have full access to our entire database of au pairs, please login or create a new host family application.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This