Maria Oliveira

Home Country: Argentina
Age: 24
Qualified to Care For: Children of All Ages
Available: 7/2/22

My Video
Photos

Letter To My Future Host Family

Hello, dear family!

My name is María Laura Oliveira, but everyone calls me Laura. I am 24 years old and I am from Argentina, specifically from Concordia, Entre Rios. I am an accounting student at the University of Entre Rios. I can define myself as a calm person, who likes to have fun and loves the kids.

I was born and live in my city, Concordia. It isn’t too big but it has everything that I like. Near the city is the Salto Grande’s lake and the Salto Grande’s dam, which connects Argentina with Uruguay. In the city, there are lots of places with nature like the River Side, Liquidambar Park, the Nebel beach, the San Carlos Park and the Saladero that has a beautiful view from the Uruguay’s river and the Uruguay’s city called Salto. There are three hot springs, a cinema and a lot of bars and restaurants in the city. Also, it has very defined seasons: in summer it is hot and in winter it is cold. My favorites are autumn and spring because they have the perfect weather to enjoy nice afternoons and nights too!

I live here with my mother Claudia, who is 56 years old and my brother Julián, who is 19 years old. My father, Juan Carlos, is 56 years old too but he is living in Spain while he works in a Medieval Fair. Also, my cats are part of the family! I have two cats called Mia and Cata. Cata is Mia’s mother and we adopted them when we moved in September 2019. My mom is a retired teacher and my brother is studying to be a P.E. teacher. I usually help in the house with the housework like cooking, doing the laundry, cleaning the house, sweeping and cleaning the floor, tidying beds, helping with cat tasks, taking out the trash and washing dishes.

When I was young, I studied at “San José Primary School”. It is private and we had religion and English as subjects. It has an incredible building and my favorite part is the Chapel. When I started secondary studies, I changed to “Martín Miguel de Güemes Secondary School”. This is where I finished my scholarship time in 2015. I studied English in an academy while I was in primary school up to 2014 when I passed the P.E.T. Exam. Then, I studied French until I passed the DELF A1 Exam in 2016. When I finished secondary school, I started my career at the Entre Rios University to be an accountant. Now I am in the 4th year! I am really grateful for the opportunities that I had that let me do things like this program!

On the weekend, I am usually in a Catholic group called "Acción Católica Argentina". I’ve been part of these activities since I was 14 years old. Now, I’m part of the group "Jovenes mayores" with other young adults like me. In addition, I am a coordinator of 2 groups: “Aspirantes” and “Juveniles”. The first one is where I have been helping since I was 15 years as a volunteer and now I’m the responsible adult. There are children since 4 years old up to 12 years old. We organize different activities to do together like pray, play games, sing and dance songs while I play the guitar. In the other group named “Juveniles” there are teenagers since 13 years old up to 18 years old. I prepared some lectures for them, we pray, sing and dance and we do some reflection about what we learn. Also, we go all together at the mass, do meetings in parks and go to visit and help in some neighborhoods with people in need near to our church. It is one of my favorite parts of the weekend because we can spend good time together!

Other favorite part of the weekend is when I meet my friends. Sometimes, we spend the afternoon outside eating cookies and drinking mate, which is a common drink here like tea. Either, we have dinner together in some of the bars or restaurants that are here. On Sundays, I visit my grandparents and we talk, play table games and have tea time. My grandpa is very good at repairing things and my grandma is really good at cooking. I love her cakes, sweet pies and alfajores de maicena, which are typical food here!

In addition, in my free time I like to play with my cats in the garden, read romantic novels, see series and movies, cook, go to church, go for a walk, play the guitar and meet new people and places. I love cooking banana’s bread and chocolate cookies and my favorite type of movies are superhero ones from Marvel and DC studios!

Since I was young, I’ve loved spending time with kids. When I was 12 years old, I took care of a 4 years old girl that was like a little sister to me. Then, I started to be part of the catholic group because I loved being with children and playing with them.

Now, during the week I take care of a baby that is now 23 months old and two kids that are siblings. He is 3 years old and she is 6 years old. I love sparing time with them because it is the chance to learn from them and see the world in a different way. All is a party for a child: tea time, go for a walk, see a dog or a cat, go to the park and play games or sing and dance! They live everything with a lot of emotion because it is new for them. Besides, I love seeing how they grow up and learn new things with their curiosity about their surroundings.

When I met the Au Pair Program and thanks to all my experiences working with children, I believed that this was perfect to me because I love new challenges! Also this is the best opportunity to grow up like a person and live my dream with all the things that I love: with children, the USA culture and my favorite language, English. I think that I'm ready to enjoy it because I love the idea of living in another country, learning another culture, improving my English, traveling and meeting new people!

I hope to meet your expectations for me because I wish to live with a wonderful family that I am sure will make me feel like a part of them. I hope that you will appreciate my abilities and personality because I want to be remembered as a good au pair who was part of your lives. I expect this experience would be beautiful because it will improve my life experience and it will bring knowledge and learning to me.

Thank you very much for reading my letter. I hope you enjoyed it and hear from you soon!

All my best, Lau

Learn More About Me

Please contact us if you are interested in learning more about Maria or any of our wonderful applicants. In order to have full access to our entire database of au pairs, please login or create a new host family application.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This