Mio N.

Home Country: Japan
Age: 23
Qualified to Care For: Children of All Ages
Available: Immediately


Letter To My Future Host Family

Hello. My name is Mio Nakayama. I’m 22 years old, and my birthday is March 6th. There are 15 people in my family: my father, mother, 7 younger brothers, 5 younger sisters, and me. In addition, I have two pets, a dog and a cat. I live in Oita prefecture in Japan. It is located in Kyushu, near Fukuoka prefecture. It takes about 100 minutes by plane from Tokyo. There is plenty of nature in Oita, such as mountains, rivers, and the sea. Also, many wild monkeys inhabit Mt. Takasaki. Moreover, there are many hot springs in Oita, which is the largest number of hot springs in Japan. Among them, Beppu Onsen and Yufuin Onsen are the most famous and attract many tourists from all over the world every year. My hobbies are going to Starbucks, watching YouTube, and traveling. My strength is that I have a charming smile and am kind, however, my weakness is that I care too much about others and tend to put myself on the back burner.

The reason why I would like to be an au pair is that I like children and I would like to learn English, so I wanted to spend time in an environment where I could study English while being involved with children. I’m not confident in speaking English, so I would like to improve my English ability. Moreover, I have many siblings and enjoy taking care of small children, so I would like to take care of them and have a good time together. For example, I’m good at cooking and making sweets, so I’d like to make something simple together. Besides, I like sports and moving my body, so I would like to dance together, play with a ball, or play hide-and-seek. In addition, I love American cultures, such as American music, fashion, and food, so I would like to experience the American lifestyle and feel the American culture firsthand. In addition, I have the image of an American culture that praises children, so I would like to learn about different ways of raising children in the U.S. and use them when I raise my children in the future. My experience in childcare is I have been working part-time at a nursery school since July of this year. And, when I was a high school student, I worked part-time as a swimming coach and taught children how to swim.

I would like to be an au pair who can cooperate with parents and think together about what is best for the child. There may be some gaps in childcare methods and ways of thinking, so I would like to discuss everything thoroughly. Also, if there is anything I don’t know or understand, I would like to ask parents actively and solve them. Moreover, I would like to enjoy everyday life with children. For example, we used to make simple crafts with the children at the nursery school every month. These crafts were for the event of the month, such as the summer festival, Halloween, and Christmas. Therefore, I would like to think of a simple craft and make it regularly with the children. Besides that, I would like to draw pictures and sing songs together. I like the pictures that children draw because they are very free, and I’m not good at singing, but singing makes us feel happy. Finally, I would like to do my best to make sure that the children and their parents will feel glad that I am there.

Thank you for taking the time to read my letter. I look forward to talking to you and your family soon.


Learn More About Me

Please contact us if you are interested in learning more about Mio or any of our wonderful applicants. In order to have full access to our entire database of au pairs, please login or create a new host family application.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This