Momoka Aoyama

Home Country: Japan
Age: 26
Qualified to Care For: Children of All Ages
Available: 2/28/22 (Extension)

Photos

Letter To My Future Host Family

Dear Host Family,

Hello, I am Momoka Aoyama. I am 26 years old and from Nagoya, Japan. I was working as a gym instructor and then went to Australia on a working holiday. I was working as an au pair and I came back to Japan this January, and now working as a childcare assistant.

My good points are that I am positive and open-minded. Even when having a hard time, I can stay positive and strong. And I accept new ideas and people openly. My weak point is that I'm not good at planning things ahead. I'm not good at thinking about the paths to the goals I set, but I am flexible and good at generating new ideas instead.

I live with my mother, father, younger sister, younger brother, and a dog. I have 8 cousins, and we meet every weekend to have dinner together. We like to go camping and used to go camping every summer. I really like them. Through good times and bad times, we spent time together.

I was in Australia for 6 months and learned and experienced so much there, so I would like to do it again in the United States. I had never worked with children before going to Australia, but always liked playing with and interacting with them. As an au pair, I could see my host children grew up so fast every day. Through playing with them, I could get a lot of energy, be always positive, and learn a lot from them.

One of the most impressive things was the moment I saw when my host child started to walk alone for the first time at 1 year and 4 months old. It took about two months since she started to practice. I thought she would learn that naturally, but it took so much time. I was very moved by watching the process that she fell again and again and finally succeeded.

I learned a lot about different cultures from the host family. The host parents were Chinese American mother and Dutch German father. The host family had a background as an immigrant and told me their experience of living in Australia, the United States, Germany, and other places in the world. Those were the things I would have never learned from the books or stories, so it was a valuable experience. Although I was very interested in foreign cultures, life and living, I couldn’t get much information when I was in Japan. But in Australia, I could learn a lot about the world. Besides, living with my host family made me want to know more about the world. Before living with my host family, I was living in a shared house. Most of the students there were from overseas, but I wanted to live and talk more with the local people and hear how they lived and felt for many years.

I think it is necessary to see things from a wider perspective and learn more about different cultures, histories, and backgrounds, to expand my possibilities. I talked with my host mother every day and my English skills improved a lot, but I would like to be able to speak better to work with children in various countries. This is why I would like to be an au pair in the United States.

I would like to become an au pair who can balance between strictness and gentleness. When a child does something wrong or dangerous, I will say no and explain to them why they can't do it.

When I was an au pair in Australia, children sometimes didn’t listen to me. When that happened, I dropped my voice and told them what they should do. When they could do what I told them, I praised them and be glad together. I think doing so will make them proud of themselves and help them in the future. I've always lived with the support of so many people, so I want to support others, too.

I like sports, making sweets and trying new things, so I want to do it with children together. I'd like to try anything to expand their potential and find out what they want to do.

Thank you very much for reading my letter.

I hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Momoka

Learn More About Me

Please contact us if you are interested in learning more about Momoka or any of our wonderful applicants. In order to have full access to our entire database of au pairs, please login or create a new host family application.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This