Nina G.

Home Country: Colombia
Age: 26
Qualified to Care For: Children of All Ages
Available: 12/9/23 (Extension)

My Video


Letter To My Future Host Family

Dear host family, I very much look forward to meeting you! But first of all, I would like to introduce myself to you. My name is Nina De la Hoz Guerra, and I am a 26year-old musician. I was born in Barranquilla, a beautiful city on the Atlantic coast of Colombia, famous worldwide for the joyfulness and talent of its people, which find their greatest expression in its Carnival. I lived for 4 years in the capital city of my country (Bogota), where I was able to work, study and grow professionally. I studied Music with an Emphasis in Classical Singing at Universidad del Norte in Barranquilla, where I earned a merit-based full scholarship for the entirety of my bachelor’s degree. I used to be part of one of the foremost musical institutions in my country, the Bogotá Philharmonic Orchestra, where I work as a choir member. Music is my job and my hobby. Besides pursuing a professional musical career, I place a high value on the culture of my land of origin and therefore I was part of a Caribbean Colombian Folklore band. I am very enthusiastic about cooking, as well as about my region’s cuisine and food in general. I love to try new recipes is a hobby I like a lot. I also enjoy taking care of plants because I find that nurturing them is also nurturing for me. This is also true for dogs, and I love taking care of them too. Finally, I love dancing and am interested in receiving formal education about this in the future. I have worked with many children as a schoolteacher and private music teacher. I had the opportunity to conduct the choir at the school where I worked, a group comprised of 50 children ages 6 to 18. I was able to learn many things from them as well as instill in them a love for music and singing. We had loads of fun working on arrangements of Disney songs and of traditional music from Africa. As a private music teacher, I have worked with children between the ages of 4 to 18 and grown-ups between 28 to 62 years old. This allowed me to more deeply comprehend the needs of every child, as each one’s mind is an expansive and wonderful universe by itself. Besides this, being part of a very large family has allowed me to take care of my little cousins (5 to 11 years old) on many occasions. My first experience taking care of newborns and babies was with mi nephew Carlos José, whose birth I was able to witness. I prepared his formula, fed him, changed his diapers, played with him, drove him places, and embraced him for one month just after he was born, and for one additional month in December 2020, when I was able to visit Barranquilla. I have worked as a piano instructor at an academy for toddlers and young children. This has been very enriching for me because I had to learn a lot of songs, new methods, and whole new ways to approach how kids of that age learn. Currently I take care of two beautiful kids that are 16 months and 3 years old (but when I started they where 7 months and 2 years. My duties with my current family are: – Keeping the spaces kids use clean and organized (bedrooms, playroom, bath, dining room when they eat) – Light cooking, snack preparing. ( when the baby was younger I used to prepare his formula) -Pick them up from school -Playing with them most of the time – Changing diapers – Potty training of the 3 year old – Put them to sleep (naps and occasionally bed time) -Give them baths when necessary. As I lived by myself since 2019, I have had to take care of all things home-related. This includes cooking, keeping my living space clean and organized, paying my bills, and being a responsible adult. These skills were prove useful during this year working as an au pair. I consider that hiring me is hiring and experienced person that have worked with children of all ages. I’m extremely self- motivated, friendly helpful and polite. I’m clean and organized. And mainly because of my age and experience, I consider myself as a responsible, honest and trustworthy person. One of the things that drive me to be an au pair is that working with children is immensely beneficial for growing professionally and personally, as it has always moved me to be more creative and caring. I also believe that a family environment will provide me with a wonderful and safe opportunity to perfect my English. I certainly hope we can develop a great relationship as we live together as a family. Being able to share an eventful half year with you and your kids would bring me a great sense of accomplishment, and I am looking forward to talking with you. Best regards, Nina

Learn More About Me

Please contact us if you are interested in learning more about Nina or any of our wonderful applicants. In order to have full access to our entire database of au pairs, please login or create a new host family application.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This