Robyn Freeman

Home Country: South Africa
Age: 22
Qualified to Care For: Children of All Ages
Available: 2/2/22

My Video
Photos

Letter To My Future Host Family

Dear Host Family,
Firstly, I would like to thank you for considering welcoming me into your family for the next year or two, for this amazing opportunity. I am extremely excited to start this new chapter in my life and I look forward to all of the learning and experiences in store for me in the future. I can’t wait to get to know you and your family!

So, here are a few things that I think you should know about me.
I’m 21 years old. I have lived on a farm basically my whole life, I was home schooled on the farm alongside my brother and 3 sisters by our extremely patient mother. Growing up on a farm has taught me a lot of valuable life skills and lessons that I would not have been able to learn in any other educational setting. I have always had a passion for animals of any kind and it has been an absolute honour to be able to live on a farm that has many animals that need care and affection. On the farm there are always lots of hands on jobs that need to be done, from bottle feeding orphaned calves and lambs to mucking out stables.

I really love the outdoors and being active in nature. There are always so many wonderful things in nature that we constantly take for granted.

Game drives are one of my absolute favorite things! I love stopping to watch the animals in their natural habitats. I’m a very active person, I gym every day. I also enjoy walks, as well as the occasional jog. I do horseback riding a lot as this is a huge passion for me and I enjoy the connection and athletic abilities that I can share with horses.

I have my own horse on the family farm, her name is Cherokee (Cherry for short) and I also have a dog named Lucky that I have had the pleasure to have as a companion since I was 8 years old. I named her Lucky after Lucky in 101 Dalmatians because it was my favorite movie as a child.

I bred African Pygmy Hedgehogs and Madagascan Tenrecs for a number of years. I was one of the top breeders in my area with some of the rarest genes and colors. I no longer breed now due to the plans I have to go to America for +-2 years. I sold my website, breeding pairs and enclosures.

I have a deep love for Disney movies, I thoroughly enjoy the childhood memories they bring back, as well as the lessons and great story lines a lot of the new movies have. I look forward to watching these with my host children. I also enjoy watching movies especially action, romance and most comedies when I have spare time. As a teen I was hooked on the Percy Jackson books, I read every single book that was ever written.

I have always been very passionate about caring for babies and young children. I love nurturing children, creating fun activities and games for them to enjoy while learning through play. I have had a lot of experience caring for children. I have been teaching horseback riding to children between the ages of 5 and 13 for the past +-2 years, which I have thoroughly enjoyed (still ongoing). I have been a volunteer at Tumanako Equine Therapy for disabled/special needs riders for +- 4 years (still ongoing) These experiences have by far been the highlight of my education involving children, and have taught me a great amount of patience, empathy, flexibility, problem solving, thinking quickly on my feet, the importance of teamwork, effective communication and how important it is to stay confident, calm and collected in difficult and unpredictable circumstances. Things don’t always go the way we plan and that’s okay, when working with children I realized that you have to be adaptable to each unique situation as it unfolds. I have learned how utterly important it is to always pay attention to what children are saying, especially when they are unable to use their words to communicate effectively, listening when it’s most important. Overall, these experiences have greatly added to my long term career goal to work with both children and horses in a therapeutic environment.

From my personal experience I have come to realize that children, especially those with learning difficulties or disabilities, learn and retain information and experiences best when done through play (even more so on horseback!). For this reason I am naturally enthusiastic to include developmental games and activities that encourage the children to learn through play wherever possible. Children need to be free to express themselves while learning in a fun, safe environment.

Due to the fact that I have always had a passion for working with children, I have volunteered at multiple nursery schools, Church Sunday school, pony camps and therapeutic riding centers. I feel this has greatly broadened my knowledge and improved my skills which I can apply to my future career. I have also been babysitting the same family’s two children for the past 5+ years, during these years I have gone with the family on most of their family holidays to care for their two children (now 8 and 10) as well as their friends’ children that accompanied us on holiday at the end of each year. Each year a different family accompanied us with their children, the ages of the children ranged between 14months and 11 years old over the years. During the 7 day holidays I was responsible for full care of the children throughout the day until they fell asleep at night. I fed, bathed, supervised swimming, went on water park rides with them, took the children to movies, dinner outings, arcade game days, zip lining obstacle courses and much more.

I’m a very active person that is always on the go, I’m constantly seeking out new adventures and opportunities for self-improvement and growth.
I enjoy learning and at my age I still have a lot of learning to do. I’m excited to see what my future holds!

Working with children can definitely be challenging at times, with many unpredictable circumstances and complex situations that need to be dealt with in a calm, patient and compassionate manner. The joyful reward is in knowing that you can make a positive difference, impacting a young child’s development and growth positively. I pride myself in being both gentle and flexible as well as occasionally strict and stern if the need arises. Each child responds differently and the caregiver always needs to be sensitive to this and adapt accordingly.

For these reasons I think I would be a great addition to any family that is looking for a fun-loving, outgoing, compassionate, yet reliable Au Pair for their children. Thank you for taking the time to read this. I hope you have enjoyed learning about me as a person.
I look forward to getting to know you and your family!
I wish the best for you in your search for your perfect Au Pair!
Sincerely,
Robyn

Learn More About Me

Please contact us if you are interested in learning more about Robyn or any of our wonderful applicants. In order to have full access to our entire database of au pairs, please login or create a new host family application.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This