Yamile Toncel Cantillo

Home Country: Colombia
Age: 25
Qualified to Care For: Children of All Ages
Available: 7/2/22

My Video
Photos

Letter To My Future Host Family

Dear host family,

My name is Yamile Judith Toncel Cantillo, I am 24 years old and I live in Santa Marta, Colombia with my parents, my mother’s name is Gloria Cantillo and my father's name is José Toncel. I have an older sister, is María Jose Toncel Cantillo. She has 26 years old. We are a very close, sociable, and communicative family.

When I finished high school, I decided to study law at Sergio Arboleda University. I've always been very active and hard-working, that's why I tried to help out at home by combining my studies with different jobs while studying at the university. I love working with children because they know how to get the best out of me and I try to teach them to do their best. It's a very rewarding job.

My family and my friends say that I am a very motherly, responsible, and loving person, also, I love children, so this year I decided to fulfill my dream of being an au pair in North America. They support my decision and are very happy for me. I’m delighted to have the opportunity to improve my English, learn about your culture, lifestyle, habits and your country, which I admire a lot. And what better way than to spend time with children and learn from them every day. They learn a lot from us, but we learn more from them than we think.

I have experience in taking care of children from one month to nine years old, both boys and girls. In 2018 Mia was 1 month, and Ruth, from Six months. The experience was great. I used to wake the kids, have breakfast together, help them get dressed, go to the pool, or play charades because they liked it.

Afterward, I took care of Ruth, who loved watching how I made plasticine figures to later try to make them on her own. Mia, we used to play in their inflatable pool, wearing their toy hats. It was a lot of fun teaching her things because she was a very fast learner. I liked Ruth’s experience. She was a baby of six months and I had to prepare her bottles, feed her, help her to develop the skills that a baby of her age begins to learn, like turns from side to explore around, entertaining him with toys, or helping her to sleep.

At home I am very organized, I like everything to be clean, I cook sometimes and when I do I like it to be healthy food, I love make plans at home and enjoy the company of the people around me.

Besides childcare experience, I also love watching movies, traveling and learning about other cultures and ways of life, meeting new people, talking and sharing experiences, going out with friends. I love doing sports, going to the gym, having contact with nature, seeing natural parks and beautiful landscapes.

Mia and Ruth were the main motivation for this experience that I want to live, from the children I learned a lot and I would like to continue learning, accompanied by this experience in another country. I’m so excited about the opportunity to know you better and to be a member of your family. I hope you had fun reading my letter and knowing a bit more about me and my dream.

I look forward to hearing from you.
Best wishes,

Yami

Learn More About Me

Please contact us if you are interested in learning more about Yamile or any of our wonderful applicants. In order to have full access to our entire database of au pairs, please login or create a new host family application.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This